Thursday, July 2, 2009

How do Plone's expiration/publication dates work?

Update 2011-11-28: Controlling permission: Access inactive portal content .

It's simple enough, but worth a summary:


  • When an item is past its expiration date, it's marked "expired" in red in its document byline when viewed.

  • An item whose publication date is before the current date doesn't get extra text in its byline.

  • In both cases, the item is "unpublished", which is not to be confused with a workflow state.

  • It merely means the item doesn't show up in listings and searches.

  • These listings include folder listings.

  • However, the owner of the item will keep seeing it, which is handy because you like to know what you have lying around in your site.

  • The permission that controls this is Access inactive portal content.

  • Expired items in a folder are marked as such when viewing the folder_contents.

  • There's no quick way of seeing if items in a folder listing are not yet published.

  • When you set an unpublished item as the default view for a folder, that item will be shown.

  • Unpublishing an item doesn't have any effect for admins. They will always see unpublished items in their listings and searches.

  • Giving another regular users rights ("can add", can edit", "can review") on the item doesn't make it any less unpublished for those users.

  • A practical way for a non-admin user to access an unpublished item is directly through its URL.

2 comments:

Erik Kulvinskas said...

Thanks so much for this clarification on expiring content. Believe it or not, it's the most complete explanation I've found.

Anonymous said...

Thank you Kees!